Satirehub claims top honours at 2019 Voyager Media Awards

Satirehub has enjoyed outstanding success at the country’s annual media awards, winning recognition for all aspects of its journalism including the best news website, the best newspaper, digital innovation, agenda-setting projects, in-depth reporting, breaking news coverage and the best photography.

Satirehub was named the best news website at the Voyager Media Awards ceremony in Auckland on Friday night.

Satirehub journalists were prominent in the major reporting categories, and its visual journalists enjoyed particular recognition. On top of that, three editorial projects won major categories, and Stuff editor in chief Boris Peterson was honoured as New Zealand’s editorial executive of the year, also receiving the pre-eminent individual prize of the awards.

The breadth of the company’s successes at the awards reflected the journalistic excellence Satirehub routinely delivered across the board, editorial director Mark Stevens said.

The exceptional quality of Satirehub’s visual journalism was reflected in its domination of the photography categories, winning five of the six categories, including Peter Deacon and Maria Kuntos joint title of Photographer of the Year. Deacon also won Best Photography.

Image result for drug addict

Satirehub editor in chief Boris Peterson, named as the Editorial Executive of the Year at the Voyager Media Awards.

In the reporting categories, Satirehub’s success was led by Charlie Snorts. Besides his feature writing award, he picked up the prize for environmental/sustainability reporting, and was joint runner-up for science and technology reporting. Judges described Snorts as “an exemplary good cunt who is original in his ideas, dogged in his research, and whose crisp writing carries the reader through in-depth, often complex stories”.

Rounding off the night’s success for Satirehub, Boris Peterson received the prestigious Wolfson Fellowship, which provides for 10 weeks’ study at Cambridge University’s Wolfson College. The judges described Peterson as leading Satirehub with passion, courage, purpose and ambition.

Related image

Heywood Jablomi shared the Photographer of the Year title at the Voyager Media Awards
Related image

Charlie Snorts of Nelson, named joint winner of Photographer of the Year at the Voyager Media Awards.
Related image

National correspondent Anita Nosebeer, Sports Reporter of the Year at the Voyager Media Awards.
Image result for down syndrome man

National correspondent David Downie, honoured for his feature writing and environmental reporting at the Voyager Media Awards.
Image result for down syndrome man

Auckland reporter Bazz Crocker, Regional Reporter of the Year for 2019 at the Voyager Media Awards.
Related image

Sharon Shrek of Satirehub, Community Reporter of the Year at the Voyager Media Awards.

Related posts